THE CASE – EVALUATION

From when we first worked on our preliminary task, to where we are now, I feel as if I have learnt a lot during this progression. I feel like my camera work, which I had virtually no experience with before, has vastly improved, as well as my editing skills. In both of these fields I had little to no experience, and I feel like my skills have improved vastly, for example I can now edit several different clips to form one, as well as mute any along with adding music or voice-overs. I feel like these major improvements were mostly due to the fact that for both ‘BIG MIKEY’ and ‘WEB ADDRESS’ we edited using the software ‘Windows Movie Maker’ which is a mediocre editing software, whereas for ‘THE CASE’ my team and I used ‘Final Cut Xpress’.48573491_640timecodes4 Final Cut is a vastly superior software due to it being able to separate audio and visual feed as well as being compatible with another piece of software called ‘LiveType’, which enabled us to create titles for our film opening.

Throughout all this I feel like I mostly learnt about how to use the technologies in making our film. I did get to do a bit of camera work, but we used Isaac’s camera to film, and I didn’t use it that much, and anything I did do I already knew how, like press record and zoom in etc. Apart from this, with the camera work I learnt how to film quickly, yet well. And in terms of editing, all I really learnt about how to edit using proper, more advanced software. My group also looked at gathering other equipment to amplify the sound quality, however this proved difficult to come by.

My group and I decided that we would attract our audience by using some cliché’s of sorts. These cliché’s are stereotypical for the action/comedy genre. For example bad humour like being rude to residents and calling them an accident just for bumping into us, as well as a supposed ‘bromance’, which makes sense due to the two protagonists being male. Another classic comedic cliché is that the two protagonists are bad at their jobs. Check. Our main goal was to attract young adults so my group made sure that we included this ‘bromance’ as well as some ‘toilet humour’ or an impression of this happening later on in the film.

When researching different film distribution companies, I found out that the distribution companies that mostly deal with action/comedy and any ‘bromance’s’ are the likes of ’20th Century Fox’ and others similar to it. It is for this reason that my group and I decided that, if we were to finish and distribute our film, we would most likely use this company.share_logo

When we were writing and filming, my group and I decided that we would show a definitive hierarchy in our film, such as the Superintendent being the two D.I.’s higher up. Whilst we were looking at these social groups, my group and I decided that we were going to stick to the stereotype, and have the Superintendent as a ‘boring’ and ‘serious’, who is also very intelligent, completely contrasting the two D.I.’s. We represented the Superintendent as a smart, straightforward individual, by having Viv’s costume as a black turtle-neck, often linked to intellectual’s, such as Steve Jobs, a skirt and heels. We also decided to stick to the stereotype for these kind of films, where the protagonists are not good at their job, but then  pull through at the last minute. We portrayed the two D.I.’s as more idiotic and bad at their jobs by having their costume as a white shirt, to make them seem smart, but have a leather jacket over the top, a stereotype of thugs, who are mostly interpreted as rather stupid. We also had the D.I.’s wear common footwear and jeans to emphasize their sloppiness.

dsc_1130 Superintendent

Our film opening was, in many ways, similar to a real media product, such as the conventions used. This was probably due to the fact that this was what we were mostly focusing on during the process. Before we begun filming, we heavily researched the stereotypical tropes and the conventions of action/comedy films and television shows, we then managed to, when writing our script, stick to these tropes as much as possible. For example we took inspiration of the ‘bromance’ from the film ’21 Jump Street’. We decided to show the female Superintendent as a more dependent individual, which is a very typical trate of action/comedy films and TV shows.

Leave a Reply

